Unfinished Pain

21 Aug

Katrina Orders
Pain. I feel it deeply when I see
my people get cold murdered.
In the North, West, East, South.
We used to rule the four corners.
What happened to us to get enslaved
like the beasts that now slay us?

Shoot.

Pain. I see it when my people
finally register the slaughter they
are filming with their ego phones.
The technology of the beast used
to film the movements of the brutes
armored to entrap to kill us. Hello?

Shoot.

Pain. I know some are to be sacrificed
so all can get liberated. How is it that
they decide our sacrifice for us?
Assassination to numb us revolt us
into submission through military
dictation. They kiss their unbalanced
cross, then aim to shoot our brains out.

Shit.

Pain. I fumble stumble as I struggle to feel
to see to know, the way out of their heaven
our hell. Why are we still here? To learn
to stop crying and get to action. Find that
black spot where we were captured, erase
the spell. Heal our selves. So we can leave them.

Alone.

Dynamic Spray Painting - roth-1

5 Responses to “Unfinished Pain”

  1. hunglikejesus August 21, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    “Ego phones” is one I must remember.
    This piece brings to mind for me a thought that I hadn’t realized how much was actually thinking about. How will I died and when will I die?
    Thank you.

  2. No Black Pete August 21, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

    How delicate. Should you have an answer, run it by me first. Only then can I decide whether to say “you are welcome.” Assuming that you already have the answer to how you will live and when. How very delicate.

  3. ShelbyCourtland August 21, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    This is SO beautiful and SO true and SO well-written and I am truly made speechless by it!!!

  4. stuartbramhall August 21, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

    Personally I think Huey Newton had the right answer. He and the other members of the Black Panther Party for Self-Defense openly carried weapons to keep racist white cops from shooting them: http://depts.washington.edu/civilr/BPP.htm

Leave a Comment

