Weighing the White Feather

12 Mar

Mammy
They show their pride

Telling me that I am dark and ugly.
That I need white pete to cover for me.
That I need to change my behavior.
Do change to serve them.

They show their greed

Telling me that I am dumb and arrogant.
That I do not even know to pretend.
That they do not like my hoochie shoes.
Do tell where I bought them.

They show their hate

Telling me that I am not enough.
That I do not buy enough stuff.
That I do not do enough to help.
Do forgive to help them.

They have use for me

Defile my body, steal my works.
Destroy my mind. Spirit twerks.
Bind my soul to their death.
Do forget to harm them.

Demon spawn wasting my time

I refuse to look like the lie they tell me to lease.
So that I put them at ease and take on their disease.
I refuse to utter the lie they will me to tell.
So that I no longer matter and take on their hell.
I refuse to take on the lie they demand of me.
So that I no longer exist and leave their evil be.

For I can no longer forget who created whom.
I hold the feather to unleash their doom.

3 Responses to “Weighing the White Feather”

  1. Marcia Simpson-James March 12, 2014 at 3:28 am #

    I remember a programme called ISARA THE SLAVE GIRL, that used to be shown, every Saturday, without failure, for years in Britain. It was a Brazilian programme shown with English subtitles. In that programme, dark-skinned Black women were always being shown being whipped.

  2. No Black Pete March 12, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

    Much appreciated. Should I come upon a clip of it, I will put it up.

    • Marcia Simpson-James March 12, 2014 at 5:33 pm #

      Your work is well and truly appreciated. You keep rocking, and keep strong.

Leave a Comment

