Keti Koti Is Not Over Yet

30 Jun

Keti Koti FestivalFirst things first. A lot of people have been working hard to organize Keti Koti this year, to make sure that the descendants could gather for discussion, commemoration of Black slavery, and celebration of supposed freedom. Many have contributed to bringing awareness to Keti Koti, and claiming space and place for those interested to partake in the organized events. My not so humble effort fades in comparison. So, I want to thank all those who put in time, thought and action. Keti Koti is not over yet, but white pete shows us how easy it is to forget.

Second things second. I know that Dutchess has been missing in action. She has not been able to work on Dutch Guyana for a while. She should have left Keti Koti to me, then she would have been able to continue just fine. Instead, I have been put in a position to have to decide whether I take on working on her site, on top of everything else that I already do. You give someone a finger, and before you know it… toes are missing. I get the empty promise that she will help me out when I would need her to. As if she would dare call out white pete. My unique offensive style does not suit her. Leave that to me, Dutchess.

Surinam Flag - 123rfSo, I have an empty promise to ponder. It means that I do all the work and get nothing in return. More importantly, what do I know about Suriname? Anyone who has read a few Dutch Guyana articles, knows more than I do. So, if I take on this challenge, Dutch Guyana will have to fit me. It would become a completely different site for a while. But, that might be what she is aiming for. She should have just asked, so I could say no. Instead, she goes the white pete route. Playing helpless, but not without a solid plan to take back control when the ignorant target has done all the work.

No, not Dutchess. She is not that conniving. I better target any discontent to where it belongs. The two women who stood on my missing toes today. I was minding my own business, shaking my booty to the Kawina music at the festival. And then one woman had the bright idea to jump around. Not taking in that she was not slim, and that there was not enough room to jump around and not be slim. Let me put it this way. I am slim, and there was not enough room for me to jump, never mind around. I had to push her off my foot.  I tend not to talk to people who physically hurt me or get ready to do so. Instead, I focus my energy on getting ready to do something about it. I do not fight, but I fight. No typing error. Just let it sink in. The second not-slim woman thundered past, leaving an impression on my left toes.

Before I get accused of hating heavy women, Black women and/or heavy Black women, let me just say that a heavy Black man was also aiming for missing toes. His aim was off, so he stepped on the little space left at the top of my shoe. I do not curse nor cuss, but he would have been very capable of causing me to break that spell. It would have stopped all the ‘festivities’. No Checkered Cloth Boots Aliexpressneed to babble on about it. He missed me, and that was the end of it. It was my own fault anyway. What was I thinking wearing flats? As a Black woman, I am supposed to wear high heels only. They have them in panji style to fit the occasion.

So, other than two heavy women causing bodily harm, and some white pete not knowing to stand aside when “negroids” congregate, things were just fine. Well, why bicker about the lack of printed programs or the Ingi (AmerIndian) theme? I sure was not going to do anything about it. So things were just fine. Which made me want to thank all those who put in time, thought and action, so I could go shake my booty. But now I need to go to bed so I can make it to the to-be-televized ceremonies in the morning. In the morning. Who ‘da well hell’ organizes ceremonies in the morning for “negroids”?!

4 Responses to “Keti Koti Is Not Over Yet”

  1. hunglikejesus June 30, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    I read this–I really did, but I have zero clue what I just read. LOL!! Maybe it an inside thing..?

    • No Black Pete July 1, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      It was just a quick update on Keti Koti. I will put up a link to the other article which will clarify Keti Koti. On Dutchess site there are articles on Keti Koti. Today – July 1st – is the official Keti Koti day, and there are activities and celebrations. It is a big deal here in Holland and Suriname (Caribbean).
      But maybe you are just wondering about my missing toes…

  2. honeytreebee July 7, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Black Pete I’m not sure, but this kinda sound like a forced holiday. Can’t be real Black Pete day if, White Pete don’t know where to stand. Sorry for your toes.

    • No Black Pete July 7, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Thank you for you comment. I wrote the article the way I did, because I was not sure what was going on. I appreciated the hard work some people put in. But, what was their intent? Keti Koti seemed to be changing into something that I could not yet describe. So, I describe someone standing on my toes – and not apologizing – to show that the mind-set of some people is not about respecting other Black people. If so, what are we celebrating? I think we are celebrating getting stuck. We are fighting for crumbs, while they steal our cake. The woman was happy with a crumb, and jumped on the foot of someone who was looking for the cake. I pushed the woman off my foot, realigned my toes, and kept focusing on the cake. I will celebrate when we get back the cake. The next day I realized Keti Koti was changed into Kwakoe festival.

      The Black Pete day is in December. When they celebrate Sinterklaas en zwarte Piet (Santa Claus and Black Pete). It is important to understand that Black Pete is white. White people acting crazy as they hide behind blackface. Cut through the white lie. Whatever comes out of their mouths, whatever they project on Black people… is white. Their Black Pete is white. But, they use Black Pete to condition their children (and adults) on how to treat Black people. They run this nazion-wide drilling program EVERY year. After the Summer break, I will be writing about this some more. This year I will start early!
      Peace.

Leave a Comment

